UK Parliamentary Jazz Award nominees announced.

Written by | News

The 2017  nominees for the UK  Parliamentary Jazz Awards have just been announced. The Parliamentary Jazz Awards in the United Kingdom are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group at the Houses of Parliament in London and recognise a wide range of British jazz talent.

The group consists of over a hundred members drawn from across the UK political parties. The awards were the brainchild Bob Blizzard [Waveney MP] a long time enthusiast of the jazz genre who was concerned that there was a lack of national recognition for the work of jazz performers and venues across the UK.

The awards ceremony will take place on October the 10th and will be held at the new Holborn venue of Pizza Express. This will be the first time that the awards will take place away from the Terrace Pavilion of the House of Commons.

The nominees in the nine categories are:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year:
Georgia Mancio; Cleveland Watkiss and Alice Zawadzki.

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year:
Shabaka Hutchings; Jim Mullen and Tori Freestone.

Jazz Venue of the Year:
Watermill Jazz Club; Jazz Re:Freshed; PizzaExpress Live and Scarborough Jazz Festival.

Jazz Media Award:
Jazzwise Magazine; Kevin Le Gendre and Chris Phillips.

Jazz Education Award:
Tomorrows Warriors; Jean Toussaint and Andrea Vicari.

Jazz Album of the Year:
Dinosaur – Together, As One; Shabaka Hutchings – Wisdom Of The Elders and Tim Garland – One.

Jazz Ensemble of the Year:
Partikel; Phronesis and Binker & Moses.

Jazz Newcomer of the Year:
Jacob Collier; Corrie Dick; Ezra Collective and Nérija.

Services to Jazz Award:
Sue Edwards; Henry Lowther; Gary Crosby and Tony Dudley Evans.

Jazz In wishes to congratulate all those nominated.

Last modified: July 15, 2018