JLCO Septet with Wynton Marsalis “The Democracy! Suite”

Written by | Featured Video, News, Video

Last week Wynton Marsalis and members of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra released a new digital album titled “The Democracy! Suite”. In addition to the digital album, a number of video’s were recorded in the The Appel Room in the Lincoln Center. Given the current events in the United States and on the eve of the inauguration of Joe Biden this set could not be more relevant.

“Jazz music is the perfect metaphor for democracy,” says famed trumpeter Wynton Marsalis. At a time when America—and indeed, the whole world—finds itself at a crossroads, the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer has been inspired to write a poignant and buoyant work, “The Democracy! Suite,” which proves that the joy and beauty of jazz can bring us all closer together.


That new suite is now a digital album from Marsalis and a septet composed of members of the famed Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. Recorded live in Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Appel Room during the Covid-19 lockdown, the work is irresistible and irrepressible. Tracks like “Out Amongst the People (For J Bat)” and “Be Present” are an impassioned reflection of turbulent times that find peerless musicians working as a harmonious community, urging us to reflect on the past and reconsider the future.

“The question that confronts us right now as a nation is, ‘Do we want to find a better way?'” Marsalis says. The music of The Democracy! Suite may be instrumental, but it speaks for itself, urging us onto action—to get out of our seats and fight for the world we believe in.


The Democracy! Suite is now available on all digital platforms. You can choose your platform of choice here.

Track listing:
1. Be Present | 2. Sloganize, Patronize, Realize, Revolutionize (Black Lives Matters) | 3. Ballot Box Bounce | 4. That Dance We Do (That You Love Too) | 5. Deeper Than Dreams | 6. Out Amongst the People (for J Bat) | 7. It Come ‘Round ‘Gin | 8. That’s When All Will See

Wynton Marsalis – trumpet | Ted Nash – alto & soprano saxophones | Walter Blanding – tenor and soprano saxophones | Elliot Mason – trombone and bass trumpet | Dan Nimmer – piano | Carlos Henriquez – bass | Obed Calvaire – drums

Release Date: 15 January 2021
Format: Digital
Label: Blue Engine Records

New Release Spotify Playlist

The Jazz In Europe New Release playlist features tracks from the new releases featured on Jazz In Europe. Updated weekly, this playlist is the perfect place to discover new music from the leading jazz musicians currently on the scene. We hope you enjoy this selection.

The best way to keep up to date with all the latest releases is to follow us on Spotify. Just click the button below.

Last modified: January 21, 2021