Tom Ollendorff, A Song For You

Written by | New Releases Page

In May 2021, the Barcelona-based jazz label Fresh Sounds Records will release A Song For You, the debut album from UK guitarist Tom Ollendorff. Since being awarded the Yamaha scholarship for outstanding jazz musicianship in 2015, Ollendorff has honed his craft on the UK and European jazz circuits to become a much sought-after player, lending his compelling skills to a range of high profile projects and performing with respected artists and ensembles including Geoff Simkins, Dave Cliff, Huw Warren, James Maddren, Jeff Williams, Ari Hoenig, Or Baraket and Bill McHenry.

On A Song For You, Tom Ollendorff’s distinctive style and flair for both composition and improvisation shine through in droves, teaming up with a dynamic band consisting of Marc Michel on drums and Conor Chaplin on bass. This longstanding trio have an innate understanding of each other’s musical idiosyncrasies, which becomes very evident in during the improvisational passages on the album. The result is a series of engaging and hypnotic grooves, interweaving reoccurring themes and subtly allowing enough space for each individual to showcase their undeniable talent.

With both his excellent trio and the aforementioned artists, Tom Ollendorff has appeared at venues and festivals in the France, China, Slovakia, Switzerland, Holland and of course the UK, including leading jazz venues such as The Vortex and the legendary Ronnie Scott’s. The band plan to take the live circuit by storm as the world emerges from this period of lockdown. Speaking on this and of the new album Ollendorff comments: “I am incredibly excited to be getting back on the road to celebrate the release of this album, especially after a year of such limited opportunities to play live. Our tour is going to all corners of the UK and I can’t wait to be reunited with audiences across the country. Fresh Sound New Talent have released some of my favourite jazz records, and it is a thrill for me to be joining the long list of incredible artists who are associated with the label. I really hope you enjoy the record.”

A Song For You is an outstanding album, sonically illustrating all of the qualities needed by a young and passionate jazz band to elevate to the next level of their journey – the proof is in the listening!

Tom Ollendorff, Guitar | Conor Chaplin, Bass | Marc Michel, Drums

Track Listing:
1. Song For You | 2. Spring | 3 Etude 1 | 4 Not In These Days | 5 XY | 6 Autumn In New York | 7 Aare | 8 Etude 3 | 9 These Days (Outro)

Release Date: 3 May 2021
Format: CD | Digital
Label: Fresh Sound New Talent

New Release Spotify Playlist

The Jazz In Europe New Release playlist features tracks from the new releases featured on Jazz In Europe. Updated weekly, this playlist is the perfect place to discover new music from the leading jazz musicians currently on the scene. We hope you enjoy this selection.

The best way to keep up to date with all the latest releases is to follow us on Spotify. Just click the button below.

Last modified: April 29, 2021