Charlie Porter | Immigration Nation

Written by | Buy Direct, New Releases Page

With a sweeping collection of new music, acclaimed trumpeter/composer Charlie Porter gathers a dynamic group of forward-looking musicians to celebrate America’s rich immigrant history.

In a time when the policy has become a heart-wrenching polarizing topic, Porter felt compelled to reclaim the uniting power of the word “immigrant” through art, knowing its healing capacity can be great when crafted with intention.

The album titled “Immigration Nation” features Porter, saxophonist Nick Biello, pianist Oscar Perez, bassist David Wong, and drummer Kenneth Salters, and presents ten original compositions in two sets, “Leaving Home” & “New Beginnings.” The ensemble burns and soars while embracing many global influences that have found their way into the music, including elements from Porter’s Lebanese/Greek/Italian heritage, all while fully living in the essence and language of jazz.

Track Listing:
Part 1: Leaving Home
1. Immigration Nation 7:45 | 2. Contradictions Within 8:41 | 3. Divergent Paths 6:01 | 4. Flight 4:46 | 5. Second Chance 6:10 | 6. The Unexpected 6:27

Part 2: New Beginnings
7. The Privileged Few 8:39 | 8. A New Vernacular 5:30 | 9. Survival of the Fittest 4:42 | 10. A Deepening Sense 7:00 | 11. Belonging 5:32 | 12. Chant 7:44

Charlie Porter – trumpet | Nick Biello – tenor saxophone | Oscar Perez – piano | David Wong – bass | Kenneth Salters – drums | Sabine Kabongo – vocals (5)

Release Date: November 15th 2019
Format: CD | Digital
Label: Origin Records



New Release Spotify Playlist

The Jazz In Europe New Release playlist features tracks from the new releases featured on Jazz In Europe. Updated weekly, this playlist is the perfect place to discover new music from the leading jazz musicians currently on the scene. We hope you enjoy this selection.

The best way to keep up to date with all the latest releases is to follow us on Spotify. Just click the button below.

Last modified: March 23, 2020