Kim Cypher | Love Kim X

Written by | Buy Direct, New Releases Page

A diverse collection of inspired original music and quirky takes on well-known classics. ‘Love Kim x’ is Kim Cypher’s second album, following her debut album ‘Make Believe’ released in 2016.

The album features a range of talent showcasing, fourteen-time winner of the best pianist in the British Jazz Awards – David Newton, New York guitarist B.D. Lenz and Clive Morton on double bass, who was a long-term contributor for Frank Sinatra and Stephane Grappelli. There is also a guest appearance on the track ‘Rising from the Dust’ for The Kentwood Show Choir directed by Sheila Harrod. Finally, last, but by no means least, we have to mention, Pee Wee Ellis. The legendary saxophonist worked alongside household name James Brown from 1965 to 1969, Ellis composed tunes such as ‘Cold Sweat’ and ‘Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud’. Between 1979 and 1986, he worked with Van Morrison, arranging and acting as a musical director.

When speaking about the album Kim stated “Love Kim x’ is dedicated to my loyal followers who continue to support me throughout my musical journey, many of whom have become my dearest friends. We travel this musical journey together. We laugh. We cry. We dance. We sing. We share happy times and sad. But, most of all, we connect and unite in a way only music will allow. For this, I am truly grateful. My sincere thanks to you all for sharing this musical adventure with me. I love you all. I am truly blessed.”

Track Listing:
1. The Nearness of You | 2. Maybe…(Remix) | 3. Soul Eyes | 4. Comes Love | 5. Breezin’ | 6. Valerie | 7. People Get Ready | 8. Highland Mike | 9. Rising from the Dust | 10. A Time to Reflect, A Time to Forget | 11. Baker Street.

Line Up:
Kim Cypher – Soprano, Alto, Tenor Saxophone, Vocals | Pee Wee Ellis – Tenor Saxophone | David Newton – Piano | Alex Steele – Piano | John-Paul Gard – Hammond Organ | Chris Cobbson – Electric Guitar | Lee Jones – Electric Guitar | B.D. Lenz – Electric Guitar | Clive Morton – Double Bass | Tom Clarke-Hill – Double Bass | Mike Cypher – Drums | The Kentwood Show Choir

Release Date: 3 May 2019
Format: CD | Digital
Label: Self Release.

Read Thomas Fletcher’s review of this album here.

Last modified: March 22, 2020