Franziska Loos – Generation Anything

Written by | New Releases Page

German vocalist Franziska Loos makes a highly impressive debut with the release of “Generation Anything”, her first album as a leader. Due for release on 16.9.2022 via German label Mons Records, “Generation Anything” is a collection of seven original songs – five of which composed by Loos with arrangements collaboratively written by Franziska and saxophonist Vincent Dombrowski. Joining Loos on the album is an eight piece band consisting of a rhythm section comprised of bass, drums and vibraphone along with a 5 piece horn section of two saxophones, two trumpets and trombone.

Stylistically the album is firmly rooted in the modern jazz tradition however channels influences from many genres in a highly creative way that converge to create something original. From a lyrical perspective there is no doubt that the material on the album contains a strong social comment yet, unlike many albums that claim this space, Franziska leaves no holes barred in delivering her thoughts. The lyrics are dark, poetic, cutting, poignant, direct and yet the message is in no way negative. When speaking about the compositions Franziska explained, “I know the lyrics are bit on the nose. I mean, if you look at most of the standard repertoire it’s all about love, birds, flowers and ladida, but that’s not what I wanted to sing about, I did enough of that at school. I want to talk about things that are relevant today, I know it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea but it’s me.”


With her extensive vocal range, sense of timing and stunning intonation, Franziska Loos has demonstrated on this recording that she is already a force to reckon with. The release of this album will hopefully make this clear to the rest of us.

Track Listing:
1. Rush | 2. Sad Excuse | 3. Wondering | 4. This Time | 5. In The end | 6. Generation Anything | 7. Introducing | 8. Insecure Highachiever

Franziska Loos – Vocals | Christopher Olesch – Vibraphone | Calvin Lennig – Bass | Lukas Schwegmann – Drums | Vincent Dombrowski – Alto Saxophone, Flute Jens Buschenlange – Trumpet | Ruven Weithoener – Trumpet | Ken Dombrowski – Trombone | Yannick Glettenberg – Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet

Release Date: 19 September 2022
Format: CD | Digital
Label: Mons Records

Last modified: September 28, 2022