Rüdiger Baldauf, Strawberry Fields

Written by | New Releases Page

After their successful release titled “Jackson-Trip”, Rüdiger Baldauf and his band mates entered the studio for the next round, namely their unique take on The Beatles (John, Paul, George and Ringo).

The Beatles ten years of history include 12 studio albums, hundreds of songs, many of them absolutely legendary. With this in mind, whoever picks up on this repertoire will need to know what they are doing. Fortunately, with Rüdiger Baldauf you don’t have to worry about that, the renowned and versatile trumpeter presents exactly the right mix of humility and new ideas.

So with this in mind, the band now present a brand new project, reloading the Beatles, so to speak, classic material only different. The song selection is surprising and well thought-out and the sound is close to the sometimes scratchy Sixties. The album sounds modern and the performances highly accomplished as Baldauf and his fellow players Thomas Heinz (drums), Marius Goldhammer (bass) and Chrisian Frentzen (keyboards) present their very own interpretation of the characteristic Beatles material.


The album is rounded out with the addition of a number of illustrious guests: Max Mutzke sings a version of “Imagine” that makes the listener want to bow down. Bruno Müller is convincing as usual adding the best guitar sounds and the newcomer Jakob Manz enriches the band with fresh saxophone solos.

Original ideas are carefully woven into these legendary songs. The often short original song is also further developed without diminishing the reputation of the greatest band of all times – a new and exciting Rüdiger Baldauf project!

Track Listing:
1: We Can Work It Out | 2: Back In The U.S.S.R. | 3: Blackbird | 4: Come Together | 5: Penny Lane | 6: Something | 7: Eight Days A Week | 8: Norwegian Wood | 9: Hey Bulldog | 10: Eleanor Rigby | 11: Strawberry Fields Forever | 12: Imagine.

Rüdiger Baldauf – trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo trumpet | Christian Frentzen – piano, wurlitzer, organ, synth. | Marius Goldhammer – bass | Thomas Heinz – drums | Guest: Max Mutzke – vocals on 4 & 12

Release Date: 8 December 2020
Format: CD | Digital
Label: Mons Records

New Release Spotify Playlist

The Jazz In Europe New Release playlist features tracks from the new releases featured on Jazz In Europe. Updated weekly, this playlist is the perfect place to discover new music from the leading jazz musicians currently on the scene. We hope you enjoy this selection.

The best way to keep up to date with all the latest releases is to follow us on Spotify. Just click the button below.

Last modified: August 31, 2022