Sam Dillon | Force Field

Written by | New Releases Page

Saxophonist Sam Dillon unleashes his horn to create a powerful “Force Field” on his first release for Posi-Tone. Joining Dillon on the date is the rhythm section of pianist Theo Hill, bassist David Wong, and drummer Anwar Marshall, along with a few performances by guest artists Michael Dease on trombone, Andrew Gould on alto saxophone and Max Darché on trumpet. With a program of exciting original compositions and a few tasty covers, the whole session swings into action and shines with bright moments.

As saxophonist and bandleader, Sam Dillon is noticeably shifting into another level. Avid listeners will certainly agree that this record is a captivating performance that will encourage jazz enthusiasts to explore the wonders of “Force Field” with amazement and delight.

1. Force Field |2. Go For The Jugular | 3. Straight Up And Down | 4. Shift | 5. Two-Part Problem | 6. Flight Of Mind | 7. Hit It | 8. Marionette | 9. Dexterity.

Track Listing:
Sam Dillon – tenor sax | Max Darché – trumpet | Andrew Gould – alto sax | Michael Dease – trombone | Theo Hill – piano, Rhodes | David Wong – bass | Anwar Marshall – drums

Release Date: 3 May 2019
Format: CD | Digital
Label: Positone Records

Last modified: May 4, 2019