Jay Anderson | Deepscape

Written by | New Releases Page

Bassist/Composer/Educator Jay Anderson is so much in demand that it is difficult to come up with any distinguished musicians who have not had Jay in their band for gigs and/or recordings.

Proving the point this album marks his 92nd appearance on a recording released on the label SteepleChase. The label now has the pleasure of showcasing Jay Anderson as the frontline soloist/leader. Anderson with dazzling ability to create musical landscape presents 11 tracks with diversity unified by the deep resonance of a double bass superior. J

Line Up:
Jay Anderson – Bass, Tibetan Singing Bowl
Billy Drewes – Alto & Soprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet
Kirk Knuffke – Cornet
Matt Wilson – Drums
Frank Kimbrough – Harmonium
Rogerio Boccato – Percussion

Track Listing:
1 Deepscape (Jay Anderson) 2:09
2 Shades Of Jazz (Keith Jarrett) 5:08
3 Rothko Chapel (5th Movement) (Morton Feldman) 7:13
4 Southern Smiles (Keith Jarrett) 6:10
5 And So It Goes (Billy Joel) 4:27
6 Time Of The Barracudas (Gil Evans) 4:58
7 Sweet And Lovely (Gus Arnheim, Harry Tobias, Charles N. Daniels) 7:31
8 Momentum (Jay Anderson) 6:23
9 Witchi-Tai-To (Jim Pepper) 6:49
10 The Mighty Sword (Branford Marsalis) 6:40
11 Tennessee Waltz (Pee Wee King, Redd Stewart) 3:28

Release Date: 15 April 2019
Format: CD | Digital
Label: Steeplechase Records

Last modified: May 4, 2019