Branford Marsalis Quartet | The Secret Between the Shadow and the Soul

Written by | New Releases Page

Today sees the release of The Branford Marsalis Quartet new album, The Secret Between the Shadow and the Soul on OKeh Records. The album will the first Branford Marsalis Quartet release in nearly seven years, following the release of his previous album titled Four MFs Playin’ Tunes.

The quartet that saxophonist Branford Marsalis has led for the past three decades has always been a model of daring, no-apologies artistry, of ever-widening musical horizons and deepening collective identity. With likeminded support from pianist Joey Calderazzo and bassist Eric Revis (each with 20 years of service to the group) and drummer Justin Faulkner (the “rookie” who has been aboard since 2009), the band has long been a model of how to sustain and enlarge a musical outlook that is both historically and stylistically inclusive.

The new album was recorded during the band’s Australian tour last year at the new facilities at the Monash University Academy of Performing Arts. Executive Director of the Academy Paul Grabowsky said “We couldn’t of had a better project to inaugurate the new facilities”. In the press release Marsalis stated “when we had five days off in Melbourne, I asked the guys if they wanted to have fun or to work. We were ready to deal with the music.”

The result is as complete a picture as one can assemble of the Marsalis Quartet within the confines of an hour. As usual there is compositional input from the veteran members, with Revis supplying the surging “Dance of the Evil Toys” and more tensile yet equally dynamic “Nilaste,” while Calderazzo reinforces the lyrical compositional yin to his virtuosic keyboard yang in “Cianna” and “Conversation Among the Ruins.” In addition to the leader’s own “Life Filtering from the Water Flowers,” with one of his most deeply felt and keenly shaded tenor saxophone solos, there are two of the more challenging jazz jewels of the mid-seventies, Andrew Hill’s “Snake Hips Waltz” and Keith Jarrett’s “The Windup.”

Whether navigating the quirky three-bar phrases of Hill’s piece or the elegant composure of “Cianna,” the rambunctious mechanisms of “Evil Toys” or the haunting ruminations of “Life Filtering,” the quartet generates distinct and unerringly apt sonic profiles. “Sonny Rollins provided the template for playing each piece with a ton of vocabulary and how to use the sound of one’s instrument,” Marsalis notes. “With us, it’s all about sound and the power it has to create emotion. When you deal with sound, you don’t play the same thing twice in a row. You listen to each other, and every song is different.”


Other influences, ranging from European opera and African percussion ensembles to such saxophone beacons as Ben Webster, Wayne Shorter, John Coltrane and Ornette Coleman, have shaped Marsalis’s command at non-verbal storytelling. “My approach in both writing and soloing is melodic and rhythmic, with harmony third,” he stresses. “We mold the harmony to the melody, where too many people let the harmony dictate. And we play in the cracks. I want to channel that vibe of all the great music I’ve heard, but to apply my own ideas.”

Marsalis still finds that the perfect vehicle for realizing his goals is his stellar working band. “Some musicians may need to work in different projects to create the illusion of sounding different by changing the context, whereas we are confident that we can adjust our group sound so we don’t have to change the context. What always appealed to me were the great bands, not just the great players who could start and stop at the same time. Staying together allows us to play adventurous, sophisticated music and sound good. Lack of familiarity leads to defensive playing, playing not to make a mistake. I like playing sophisticated music, and I couldn’t create this music with people I don’t know.”

The Secret Between the Shadow and the Soul confirms Branford Marsalis’s vision. It is sophisticated, adventurous and anything but defensive, and it captures a great band sounding better than ever.

Branford Marsalis, Saxophones | Joey Calderazzo, Piano | Eric Revis, Bass | Justin Faulkner Drums

1. Dance of the Evil Toys (Eric Revis)
2. Conversation Among the Ruins (Joey Calderazzo)
3. Snake Hip Waltz (Andrew Hill)
4. Cianna (Joey Calderazzo)
5. Nilaste (Eric Revis)
6. Life Filtering from the Water Flowers (Branford Marsalis)
7. The Windup (Keith Jarrett)

Release Date: March 1, 2019
Format: CD | Digital
Label: OKeh Records

You can purchase or stream the album here.

Last modified: May 10, 2019